Turkey will declare 10 ambassadors persona non grata

1 min read


Ten ambassadors including those of Germany and the United States are now just one step away from deportation from Turkey, after calling for the release of activist Osman Kavala.

The ambassadors of the 10 countries that called for the release of Turkish activist Osman Kavala will be declared "persona non grata", Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan said on Saturday.

"I have ordered our Foreign Minister to declare these 10 ambassadors persona non grata as soon as possible." said Erdogan.

Turkish Foreign Ministry summoned ambassadors on Tuesday for what it said was a statement "Irresponsible".

The envoys had issued a rare joint document calling for a speedy resolution of the case of the imprisoned civil society leader.

Kavala has been in jail since late 2017, accused of financing the 2013 protests, and participating in a failed coup in 2016, which he denies.

The ambassadors in question are the representatives of the USA, Germany, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway and Sweden, in Ankara.